Fair Book Honoree

Each year a leader(s) is selected to be honored in the Fair Book.

Citation for Outstanding Service

This award is given annually to a 4-H leader(s). Selection criteria includes being a 4-H leader for at least 10 years, with at least 5 years being in Barry County; be active in the last three years; support the county 4-H Program; and perform over and above normal activities.

Meritorious Service Award

This is an annual award given to a business or organization who is a long-standing supporter, for 5 or more years, of the 4-H Program.



Barry County Fair Book Honoree(s) -

Each year a leader(s) is selected by the 4-H Council to be honored in the Fair Book. Leader(s) should meet several of the criteria below.

Selection criteria includes:

- 1. Involved in Barry County 4-H for at least 10 years.
- 2. Involved in Barry County Fair for at least 10 years.
- 3. Involved with multiple project areas.
- 4. Have been a fair superintendent-asst., superintendent or general leader.
- 5. Have been a volunteer for fair, before/during/after.
- 6. In good standing with the community.
- 7. Have served as a clerk.
- 8. Have served on the 4-H Council or Fair Board.
- 9. Have livestock involvement (i.e. buyer, ring worker).
- 10. Have or have had a strong involvement in special interest groups.

Suggestions are welcome. Please email completed form to pennin25@msu.edu by June 1

Name	Phone	
Address		
City	MI Zip	
Suggested by:		
Qualifications listed below:		

- 1983 Forrest Johnson & Earl McKibben
- 1984 None
- 1985 Leo & Mabel Barry
- **1986 Eleanor Frey**
- **1987 Clarence Carl Hartman**
- 1988 Mary Munyon
- **1989 Simon Maichele**
- 1990 Mary Lou Frey
- 1991 Bill & Virginia Phillips
- 1992 Carolyn & Gordon Worth
- 1993 Bill & Darlene Pickard
- **1994 Rachael Bassett**
- 1995 Norm & Diana Langshaw
- **1996 Don & Shirley Drake**

- 1997 Blair & Lelia Hawblitz
- 1998 Dick & Betty Bryans
- 1999 Anita Bauer & Gail Cross
- 2000 Sarah Halliday
- 2001 Don & Janet Geukes
- 2002 Jim & Emily Harrison
- 2003 Mike & Marilyn Higgins
- 2004 Burt Lake
- 2005 Nick and Nancy Wieringa
- 2006 Ron and Julie Dingerson
- 2007 John & Carolyn Steensma
- 2008 Bill & Billie Neal
- 2009 Dick & Mary Reurink
- 2010 Dave & Luana Furrow
- **2011 Ruth Broadhurst**
- 2012 Ron & Carol Tobias
- 2013 Mary Guy & Kay Booth
- 2014 Julie VanderMeulen
- 2015 Marcie Robertson
- 2016 Kathy Walters Surratt
- 2017 Kathy Courtney
- 2018 Linda Garrison
- 2019 Vance & Diane Hoskin
- 2020 The year of no fair

<u>Citation for Outstanding Service Award</u> - is given annually to a 4-H leader(s). Selection criteria includes being a 4-H leader for at least 10 years, with at least 5 years being in Barry County; be active in the last three years; support the county 4-H Program; and perform over and above normal activities.

Suggestions are welcome. Please email completed form to pennin25@msu.edu by June 1

Name of 4-H Leader

Club

Suggested by

Qualifications listed below:

PREVIOUS WINNERS

- 1980 Lois VanDevine
- 1981 Phil Cotant
- 1982 Earl & Lorna Wilson
- 1983 Connie Witzel
- **1984 Judy Stoneburner**
- 1985 Shirley Drake & Kathy Walters-Surratt
- 1986 Rodney Pennock
- 1987 Anita Bauer
- 1988 Jim & Emily Harrison
- 1989 DeWayne & Peggy Jones
- 1990 Gordon & Carolyn Worth
- 1991 Julie VanderMeulen
- 1992 Sandra Rausch
- 1993 Diana Langshaw
- 1994 JoBeth Bridleman/Holly Steiner
- 1995 Dixie Miller
- 1996 Sarah Halliday
- 1997 Kay Booth/Kathy Pennington

- 1998 Sharon Miller & Ken Osborn
- 1999 Shirley Mater & Sue Haskin
- 2000 Darlene Pickard
- 2001 Carolyn Steensma
- 2002 Vance Hoskins
- 2003 Michelle Johnson
- 2004 Jeff Harthy
- 2005 Gary Tietz
- 2006 Theresa Ferris
- 2007 Barbara Buck
- 2008 Ruth Broadhurst
- 2009 Ron & Julie Dingerson
- 2010 Mary Guy
- 2011 Mary Slocum & Linda Sarver
- 2012 Kim Falconer
- 2014 Dana Harthy
- 2015 Darla Deibert
- 2016 Arlene Stanton
- 2017 Gail Cross
- 2018 Barbara Havwood
- 2019 Sheila Barnard
- 2020 The year of no fair

Meritorious Service Award - is an annual award to a business or organization who is a long-standing supporter, for 5 or more years, of the 4-H Program.

Suggestions are welcome, Please email completed form to pennin25@msu.edu by June 1. Final selec-tion is made by the 4-H Advisory Council executive committee and the 4-H Staff.

Name of Business or Or	ganization		
Address			
City	MI Zip	Phone	
Suggested by			
Qualifications listed bel			

Previous Winners

- 1980 Tom Guthrie/Nianne Jarrard
- **1981** Hastings Production Credit
- 1982 Kiwanis Club of Hastings
- 1983 The Reminder
- 1984 Hastings McDonalds
- 1985 Farmers Feed
- 1986 Felpausch, Inc.
- 1987 Al & Pete's/K&E Tackle
- 1988 Chester & Don Geukes
- **1989** Newton Electric Dewight Newton
- 1990 Jack Cross, Hastings City Police
- 1991 Art McKelvey
- 1992 Barry County Lumber
- 1993 WBČH
- 1994 Barry County Farm Bureau
- 1995 Felpausch, Inc.
- 1996 Hastings City Bank
- 1997 Art Meade Auto Sales
- 1998 Edward Jones Investments Mark Christensen

- **1999 Dan Valley Excavating**
- 2000 H & H Feed Bruce Hadden
- 2001 Eavey Veterinary Service
- 2002 Buckland Insurance
- 2003 Caledonia Elevator
- 2004 Mainstreet Bank
- 2005 Greenstone Farm Credit Service
- 2006 Barry County Sheriff's Posse
- 2007 Freeport Elevator
- 2008 Casey Family
- Doyal Dingman
- 2009 Duane Hamilton
- 2010 Bull Creek Veterinary Service
- 2011 John Loftus
- 2012 Barry County Fair Board
- 2014 Seasonal Grille
- 2015 Duane Werner
- 2016 Lavern Yutzy & Romayne
- Graber
- 2017 Norm & Diana Langshaw
- 2018 Barry Conservation Club
- 2019 Spencer's Towing
- 2020 The year of no fair